Cindy Sheehan to Be Awarded the Sacco-Vanzetti Award for Social Justice

February 5, 2019 Emma Fiala 0 Comments

On March 10th, 2019, Cindy Sheehan will be honored by the Community Church of Boston and will be presented with the Sacco-Vanzetti Memorial Award for Contributions to Social Justice.

The award has been presented to one activist since 1976.

Cindy Sheehan is a peace and social justice activist who garnered international attention after her son Casey died in the USA’s illegal and immoral war in Iraq in 2004. In August of 2005, Cindy set up a peace camp just yards from then president George Bush’s Crawford ranch to ask him, “for what noble cause” people were dying in Iraq and Afghanistan. She never got her answer, but thousands came to Crawford to join her and tens of thousands did solidarity actions all over the world. Cindy Sheehan was often credited with “reigniting” the antiwar movement that summer, but unlike many political partisans, she never stopped her activism when the democrats came to power. Sheehan is the author of seven books and has a pod cast that just celebrated its 11th year “On The Air and in the Streets: Cindy Sheehan’s Soapbox.”

Past recipients include:

1976 William M. Kunstler
1977 Florence H. Luscombe
1978 Scott and Helen Nearing
1979 William L. Patterson
1980 Willard Uphaus
1981 Roger N. Baldwin
1982 Sara R. Ehrman
1983 Eddie James Carthan
1984 Cynthia Anthonsen Foster
1985 Donald G. Lothrop
1986 Cesar Chavez
1987 Mildred S. Olmsted
1988 Truman J. Nelson
1989 Anna H. Morgan
1990 Martin N. Gopen
1992 Leonard Peltier
1993 Margaret F. and Daniel B. Schirmer
1994 Juanita and Wally Nelson
1995 Elizabeth Peterson and David Dellinger
1996 Dirk J. Struik
1997 Anne Burlak Timpson
1998 School of the Americas Watch, received by Nicholas C. Cardell
1999 David Rothauser and Charlie King
2000 Howard Zinn
2001 Ruth Hamilton
2002 Harry Landfield and Jane Polley
2003 Rachel Corrie
2004 César Cauce, Michael Nathan, William Sampson, Sandra Smith and James Waller
2005 Lynne Stewart
2006 Mumia Abu-Jamal
2007 Chuck Turner
2008 Jim Harney
2009 Mel & Joyce King
2010 Truth and Justice Radio
2011 Arnie King
2012 Tarek Mehanna
2013 Peter Van Buren
2014 Tina Chéry
2015 Kathy Kelly
2016 Medea Benjamin
2018 S. Brian Willson

leave a comment